click here for larger text
click here to return to original text size
Departments

Grown Ups Enjoy Reading Also
English Department
First Name Last Name Department Room Number Email Address Voice Mail Extension (925-280-3950 ext. XXXX) Position
Scott Brady-Smith English D7 sbrady-smith@acalanes.k12.ca.us 5141 Teacher
Jamie Donohoe English MU1 jamie.donohoe@acalanes.k12.ca.us 5121 Teacher
Dan Doyle English F3 ddoyle@acalanes.k12.ca.us 5151 Teacher
Tom Duffy English E11 tduffy@acalanes.k12.ca.us 5150 Teacher, Department Chairperson
Anne Hebert English E7 ahebert@acalanes.k12.ca.us 5147 Teacher
Tina Mayer English D8 tmayer@acalanes.k12.ca.us 5142 Teacher
Chris McNevin English C11 cmcnevin@acalanes.k12.ca.us 5131 Teacher
Charla Powell English C8 cpowell@acalanes.k12.ca.us 5128 Teacher
Jacqueline Tong English  F4 jtong@acalanes.k12.ca.us 5384 Teacher
Nathan Ward English C10 nward@acalanes.k12.ca.us 5130 Teacher
Chuck Woolridge English E12, E13 cwoolridge@acalanes.k12.ca.us 5359 Teacher, Journalism Advisor, Coach
 
 
Course Offerings

English 1
English 1 focuses on the study of fiction and non-fiction/informational reading materials, including novels, short stories, plays, essays, poetry, and informational documents. There is an emphasis on the writing process, the development of listening and speaking skills, and vocabulary development.
Units: 10
Grade Level(s): 9
Prerequisites: n/a
UC/CSU Approved? - Yes

English 2
English 2 focuses on the more advanced study of fiction and non-fiction/informational reading materials, including novels, short stories, plays, essays, poetry, and informational documents. There is an emphasis on the writing process, the development of listening and speaking skills, and vocabulary.
Units: 10
Grade Level(s): 10
Prerequisites: English 1
UC/CSU Approved? - Yes

English 3
English 3 focuses on the advanced study of traditional and contemporary American Literature and nonfiction/informational reading materials. There is an emphasis on writing, including response to literature, and reflective writing. Students will also develop speaking, listening and vocabulary skills.
Units: 10
Grade Level(s): 11
Prerequisites: English 2
UC/CSU Approved? - Yes

English 3 Honors
Honors English 3 focuses on the advanced study of traditional and contemporary American Literature and non-fiction/informational reading materials. This course provides additional depth of study in the development of advanced writing, analysis, and literary criticism skills beyond that required within the English 3 curriculum. Students will also develop advanced speaking, listening, and vocabulary skills.
Units: 10
Grade Level(s): 11
Prerequisites: English 2
UC/CSU Approved? - Yes

English 4
English 4 focuses on the advanced study of world literature and non-fiction, and prepares students for the rigor of college-level reading and writing. The course includes extensive writing, analysis of text, and literary criticism, as well as the development of speaking, listening and vocabulary skills.
Units: 10
Grade Level(s): 12
Prerequisites: English 3
UC/CSU Approved? - Yes

AP English Literature
AP English Literature is designed to provide students with the abilities needed to be successful at the university level as skilled readers of prose written in a variety of periods, disciplines, and rhetorical contexts. This course also develops skilled writers who can compose for a variety of purposes.
Units: 10
Grade Level(s): 12
Prerequisites: English 3
UC/CSU Approved? - Yes

Journalism 1-3
Journalism students will expand their English/Language Arts and visual arts skills through creating and publishing the school newspaper. Students are required to write monthly assignments for the newspaper and other class projects. They practice varied forms of journalistic writing including news, features, and sports stories, as well as reviews and editorials. Students learn laws and ethical standards related to journalism. In the process of writing their stories, laying out newspaper pages, and designing advertising, students learn to use specialized software for word processing, page layout, and graphic design. This course is designed for students who are interested in refining their writing skills as well as exploring careers in journalism. If the school site offers this course as an ROP course, the student must be in 16 in order to enroll.
Units: 10
Grade Level(s): 10, 11, 12
Prerequisites: Journalism 1: English 1 and teacher approval; Journalism 2: Journalism 1 and teacher approval; Journalism 3: Journalism 2 and teacher approval
UC/CSU Approved? - Yes