• District Overview



    Community and Location

    Located in the beautiful hills of Contra Costa County, the family-oriented communities of Canyon, Moraga, Lafayette, Orinda and Walnut Creek are within the Acalanes Union High School District attendance area. We serve students in grades 9-12 and have an extensive adult education program. The area is ethnically, culturally and politically diverse with each of our four communities having a strong local identity that fosters positive interactions among adults and students. The communities provide a wealth of cultural, entertainment and recreational opportunities. 

    A Tradition of Excellence

    Acalanes, Campolindo, Las Lomas, and Miramonte High Schools all rank very highly among high schools in California and the top 4% of all high schools in the United States for strength of the Advanced Placement Program. The Acalanes Center for Independent Study offers an exceptional alternative education program. All the schools in the district are fully accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges.

    Parents and Community

    The Acalanes Union High School District is considered one of the highest performing school districts in California. Parent participation and support is provided with volunteer hours and fund-raising through parents and boosters organizations, and foundations. The community passed bond elections in 1988, 1997, 2002, and 2008 to improve District facilities; and passed parcel taxes in 1991, 1995, 2001, 2005, 2009, 2010, and 2014 to maintain or expand educational opportunities for the students of the District.



    We educate every student to excel and contribute in a global society.


    LCAP Goals

    1. Further develop and implement high quality programs and educational opportunities for students to attain college and career readiness (High quality programs)
    2. Develop programs and opportunities to promote access and achievement for all students in relevant and engaging curriculum and programs (Access and Equity)
    3. Provide safe, engaging and inclusive school sites and classrooms that address the social-emotional needs of all students (School climate and Social-emotional development)
    4. Recruit, develop and retain high quality certificated, classified and administrative staff (High quality staff)


    Our Schools

    Comprehensive High Schools

    Alternative School:

    Adult Education:


    Our Students

    The 2021-2022 enrollment by ethnicity depicted graphically is as follows:

    2021-2022 Ethnicity Graph


    Adopted Budget: 2022-2023

    General Fund:


       Local Control Funding Formula (LCFF) - $62,934,196

       Federal Revenue - $2,081,072

       Other State Revenue - $6,246,430

       Other Local Revenue - $7,361,007

       Other Local Revenue - Parcel Tax - $10,500,000

       Total Revenues - $89,122,705


       Salaries - $48,814,921

       Employee Benefits - $27,296,463

       Books & Supplies - $3,182,268

       Services, Other Op Expenses - $13,029,056

       Capital Outlay - $168,966

       Total Expenditures - $92,491,674